Masonry and LEED v4

Advanced products and systems can facilitate compliance
[ Page 4 of 7 ]  previous page Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 next page
Sponsored by EchelonTM Masonry
This test is no longer available for credit

Other LEED Credits

The LEED Rating System also includes credits for Innovation and Regional Priority. Innovation credits vary from project to project but typically include strategies not covered in LEED, LEED Pilot Credits, or going beyond the LEED requirements. Regional priority credits give added weight of up to four points to credits identified by USGBC’s regional councils and chapters. In many areas of the country, Sustainable Sites credits related to rainwater management and heat island effects are identified as regional priority credits. Another area where masonry products may be able to contribute is the LEED Pilot credits for Resilient Design. One point is earned for each credit met in the areas of: assessment and planning for resilience, design for enhanced resilience, and passive survivability and functionality during emergencies. These credits recognize projects that are planned and designed to function and/or quickly return to normal operation after extreme events or disasters, either natural or manmade. Masonry’s advantages here include noncombustibility, impact resistance, and ability to withstand flooding or other water damage without developing mold or other moisture-related problems. Masonry’s thermal mass also enhances passive survivability and functionality.


[ Page 4 of 7 ]  previous page Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 next page
Originally published in Architectural Record
Originally published in June 2016